Vegan, Vegetarian
Comments 2

Vegan Tempeh Bolognese

Tonights dinner was Vegan Tempeh Bolognese!!ย I found this recipe in Vegetarian Times Magazine about a year ago. It is Sooooo Yummy! A classic italian pasta sauce made with crumbled tempeh instead of ground meat. You can serve it over spaghetti, polenta, potatoes, or tonight’s choice for me (because of “The Fat Flush Plan”) over pureed cauliflower.

1tbs. Plus 1 1/2 tsp olive oil, divided*
1 medium onion, peeled and finely chopped (1 1/2 cups)
1 large carrot finely chopped (1/2 cup)
1 cup finely chopped celery
1 tbs dried or fresh oregano
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 8oz pkg. tempeh
1 Tbs. reduced-sodium soy sauce*
1 28-oz can fire-roasted diced tomatoes(I bought NO-SALT ADDED tomatoes)
1/2 cup dry white wine*
2 Tbs. tomato paste (again I bought NO-SALT ADDED paste)
1 tsp. vegan worcestershire sauce*
1/2 cup whole grain rice milk*

NOTE: Every ingredient with a * next to it I am leaving out or substituting because of my “Fat Flush Plan”

1. Heat 1 Tbs. Oil in large skillet (I am using no-sodium veggie broth) over medium-high heat. Add onion, carrot, celery, oregano, and garlic and cook 5 to 6 minutes, or until vegetables are browned, stirring often.

2. Meanwhile, heat remaining 1 1/2 tsp oil in separate skillet over medium heat ( I used flaxseed oil). Add tempeh, and brown 2 minutes on each side. Add soy sauce (I am leaving it out) and 1/2 cup water. Cook tempeh 5 minutes more, or until liquid has absorbed. Break tempeh into small crumles with spatula.

3. Stir tempeh, tomatoes, wine, tomato paste, and vegan worcestershire sauce into onion mixture. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, partially covered 10 minutes. Stir in rice milk (I ended up blended silken tofu in the blender to make a milk, and I added this to the bolognese.) and simmer 5 minutes more, season with salt and pepper if desired. I added a dash of cayenne pepper!!

186 CAL, 11 G PROT, 8 G TOTAL FAT, 20 G CARB, 0 CHOL, 552 MG SOD (only 35 MG SOD if you do it my way), 3 G FIBER, 10 G SUGARS (8 G if you do it my way)

* Everyone should try and keep there sodium intake to a minimum. We should only consume 2000 MG per day. This is actually hard to do if you start to pay attention to how much salt is in everything we eat! Having less sodium helps you loses weight, have lower blood pressure and lower cholesterol. And who wants to be bloated anyway RIGHT ?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 Comments

  1. You know something, this really sounds good. I was wondering, since you mentioned “fat flush”, would something like this really work?

    The reason I am asking is because I have been trying to lose a few pounds and I’ve tried everything you could possibly think of.

    I know the key product to watch are salt and sugars, but it’s tough ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I am going to concentrate on what you’re blogging and actually try it out and I will keep you informed on my progress.

    Thank You,
    Jose L. Huerta

    • Thank you for reading my blog Jose! YES cutting out salt helps drop pounds and fast! Also try not to eat dairy….. Keep me posted on your progress ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

