organic living
Comments 9

Farm to Table Lifestyle

In 1998 I became a vegetarian, In 2010 I became a vegan, and in 2012 I will be an Omnivore. Sorry to all my vegan fans, but I believe the “Farm to table” lifestyle is the way to live. Eat clean, fresh, organic and everything in moderation.

I honestly have been thinking about this change for about 3 months. It all stared when I looked at the ingredients in my tub of tofutti cream cheese and there were 12 ingredients (some I had never heard of) and then I looked at the container of organic “real” cream cheese and there were 2 ingredients, so I thought to myself “What’s really better?” You can be a vegetarian and still eat a ton of processed foods. I am inspired by chefs like Alice Waters who believe in Good, Clean food & shopping at local farms that are dedicated to sustainable agriculture. I want a kitchen filled with fresh pure ingredients. I will still eat a ton of vegetarian meals but I am adding in fish & organic free range chicken šŸ™‚ I am very excited about this change in my life and I am excited to share my lifestyle & Meals with you all. I will still be cooking vegetarian and vegan meals but I will also be posting recipes that include meat. I hope you all continue to follow my blog.
Best,
Nicole
This entry was posted in: organic living

by

Hello My name is Nicole and I am born and raised in Los Angeles, California!! I love cooking and eating REAL FOOD and I am here to share my journey with you. I am a wife & mommy to a 5 year old boy named Aiden. I love fitness and I hope I can inspire others to be healthy and happy!

9 Comments

  1. Tamara Smith says

    There’s noting incompatible with being vegan and a ‘farm to table’ lifestyle. You’ve set up a false dichotomy: processed vegan foods vs. local farmed (but still just as dead, and still unhealthy for people and the environment) animals.

    • Very true Processed vegan food & local farmed food is totally different. I just felt I was eating way to many processed vegan foods. I could choose to not eat any of them but I am choosing to add some animal protein back into my diet. I am sorry if I have offended you in any way. I just feel everything in moderation is great!

      • Minku says

        I’d generally agree with the phrase “everything in moderation is great”. However, when we use animals as resources (food, clothing, etc.), even in the most “humane” forms of exploitation, we cannot deny that we’re inflicting violence upon them. Since consuming animal products isn’t necessary for human survival, this violence serves no other purpose other than to privilege our trivial interests (in this case, the satisfaction of our palates) over the much more important interests of nonhumans to live their lives without being exploited. Thus, unnecessary violence, whether in “moderation” or not, is not acceptable and should not be tolerated. And it’s absurd to include violence as something that should be done in moderation.

  2. I have to admit, I don’t know much about a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle… although I am trying to include more meatless meals in my cooking, but I don’t think anyone should be put down for their food choices.

    • Thank you Emily! I think it’s great that you are starting to eat more meatless meals. Monday we had fish, last night we had organic free range chicken and tonight vegan tortilla soup. Even though I am choosing to drop my “vegan title” I think having meatless meals are great for you šŸ™‚

  3. Ryan Wirtz says

    Minku, if this was a blog specifically about PETA or violence against animals then I can understand your point, but it’s a food blog. Please don’t turn this into something it’s not. And please respect the fact that someone changing their food habits in order to make them feel healthier about their diet is a personal choice. It’s hardly “absurd.” In no way is this blog celebrating violence against animals. I respect your stance on the issue, but you must respect Nicole’s as well.

Leave a Reply

