CrossFit, foodie, Gluten Free, organic living, Paleo, Vegan
Comments 5

Homemade Almond Milk

Now I normally purchase Organic Pacific Almond Milk at Whole Foods but a couple of weeks ago I found myself at Ralphs grabbing some last-minute items and I knew I was out of almond milk so I grabbed some through it in the cart and went on my way. When I got home and glanced at the ingredients and I WAS APPALLED!!!!! What in the world was in my almond milk? So I went on-line ordered my Nut -Milk-Bag, placed 1 cup of almonds in a bowl of water in the refrigerator and waited for my amazon Prime delivery.

As soon as the bag arrived I drained the almonds, put them in my vitamix added 3 cups of fresh cold water, a pinch of sea salt and chopped vanilla bean and press blend! After that you drain the milk through your Nut-Milk Bag and TA-DA you have almond milk with only 3 ingredients. It was way to easy!

Almonds

Almonds

soaking almonds in water

soaking almonds in water

Homemade Almond Milk

Homemade Almond Milk

The following week I made cashew milk and used it to make peaches n cream sorbet in my vitamix. 1 cup frozen peaches, 1/2 cup cashew milk, 1 tbs flaxseed meal 1 tbs raw honey and you have sorbet!

Peaches N Cream

Peaches N Cream

Another great recipe I tried involved dates (who dosn’t love a good date) so here is that recipe:

1 cup Almonds (soaked overnight and drained)

3 cups fresh water

3 pitted dates

1 whole vanilla bean chopped (also soaked in water a few hours prior)

a pinch of sea salt

a pinch of cinnamon

Place almonds, water and dates in blender and blend on high! drain in nut milk bag over a bowl then once strained pour into jar of choice and add salt and cinnamon. drink within 3-5 days.

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

